Welcome to the Australian Astronomical Observatory

Welcome to Australian Astronomical Optics – Macquarie University

The AAO is now Australian Astronomical Optics and is hosted by Macquarie University. You can read more about the new AAO via this link.

The Australian Astronomical Observatory was formerly a division of the Department of Industry, Innovation and Science. The Observatory was funded by the Australian Government to provide world-class observing facilities for Australian optical astronomers, through to 30 June 2018.  The Anglo-Australian and UK Schmidt telescopes are now managed by the Australian National University on behalf of the Australian astronomical community. 

The AAO's Technological Achievements

The AAO develops innovative technologies and instruments for the telescopes we support, but national and international. View our Technological Achievements document here.